An update of sorts.

I really, really want to make this blog into something people can follow. Building my brand and all that, ahead of the publication of my novel. Thing is, between work, seminary, family life, and writing said novel, I’m super busy. (Half the week, I leave the house at 6:45 AM and return at about 9:30 PM.)

We all go through seasons in life, and some are busier than others. This is one of the busy ones– the busiest, I think, that I have ever experienced. I’m not complaining, mind you. I haven’t been bored in weeks. But I could certainly use any prayers that one feels like throwing my way. In return, have a free chunk of Buddhas Dream of Enlightened Sheep, coming from Castalia House this year:

“Now,” I said, “I’m aware that this is not the most subtle or least embarrassing way to go about this, and I’m well and truly regretful for that, but I’ve had a rough night and I’m going to have a hell of a lot of paperwork to fill out, so please don’t anyone make it worse by getting ideas. I’m in a shootin’ mood.”

“Ellison, is it?” the old woman said. “I don’t know who you think you are, but you’re obviously not someone with the right set of permissions. Our identities were randomized for privacy.” She tilted her jaw upwards and smiled a little. She was good at haughty, and it looked like she’d had plenty of years to practice.

“Jeez, lady,” I said. “There are brown dwarfs brighter than you.”

Hestia smiled behind her hand. The old woman didn’t see it or didn’t care. She was busy turning pale and wobbling unsteadily. You see that sometimes when folks find themselves staring down a bakufu­ authentication certificate. Allergic to being caught.

Posted on January 31, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dear Joshua,
    Since I’m too incompetent at the moment to find a “Contact Me” link on your blog, I’ll leave my message of thanks here, on what hits me as an appropriate post to leave it.

    I finished your contribution to Anthony Marchetta’s “God, Robot” this evening. Your use of the English language, your build-up of the setting, and your successful creation of two flesh-and-blood characters within a short chapter combined into a beautifully moving tale. Felix Fabula!

    Here’s the thing: I read John C. Wright’s contribution to the same volume earlier today. I expected it to be the highlight of the whole collection. I was wrong. It was good, but to my utterly pleasant surprise, your story blew his out of the water. For this reader at least, you wrote a tale that beat John C. Wright’s for beauty. My sincerest thanks for writing and sharing it. I’m looking forward to regularly reading your work, including your upcoming novel.

    Like

  2. Whoa! Thank you! I beat JCW? That’s high praise indeed. What a mad, mad world we live in. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    … And I guess I should probably add a contact me link. And maybe update. (I’ve been doing most of my writing over at SuperversiveSF.com and a section on Castalia House’s blog Tuesday mornings.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Catching a Dragon

Official writing blog of Sean Patrick Hannifin

The Badger Contemplates....

The blog of Joshua M. Young.

Brad R. Torgersen

Blue Collar Speculative Fiction

SuperversiveSF

Science Fiction for a more Civilized Age

Jason Otero

Ministry, Leadership, Organizational Health

Peregrinations

the art of storytelling - in any medium

Sci Phi Journal

A journal about science fiction and philosophy

www.ljagilamplighter.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

John C. Wright's Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

